Angalia saa

I am reminded of the primary school teacher that would light your lower back on fire with a cane and demand you voice your gratitude. This in the form of a thank you Sir/madam can I have some more! Wrought through clenched teeth and a face contorted in pain with your tears hanging precariously. You get the idea? The former President of Kenya Daniel Toroitich arap Moi used to be a teacher before attaining a Professorship of Politics.

When you say Promulgation, a word I heard yesterday, I switch off. My mind inexplicably goes Linkin Park-Numb. I think of heroes and of struggle. Cold chills and Nyayo House water bills. Blood curdling screams that accompanied castrations as a metaphor of state sanctioned assassinations and incredulous suicide theories. Am wishing you could feel even a tiny bit of the emotion am experiencing. Do you think I am angry? I am crying only you can’t see my tears. When police flood your room in the wickedest of night, drag you half naked away from your family what will stop you from singing,” freedom is coming tomorrow?”

Or the last thing you see is the flashlights and cars stripped of number plates speeding away. That’s your childhood and your only visitors ever. Oh, and that’s your father’s name in the paper, plus your mother is posing nude at Uhuru Park. Stop. There or Shall I continue?

Antony B – Damage

Onto darkness and death lead us dear founding father. The tree of freedom was watered by blood but who will enjoy its fruit? Let me be your fools will you? All my anger and hatred is gone youth has drained from my veins do to me as you will. Have you broken my body? Have you broken my spirit? I may forgive but will I forget 2008? What was happy, prosperous or so new about it? Your Excellency President Emilio Mwai Kibaki E.G.H M.P C-in-C, I still know what you did

Shaggy – Repent

The last time we were or you were here was in the year 2002 how dare they call you retired former president Daniel Toroitich arap Moi. They threw mud at you like rotten eggs aimed at President Jommo Kenyatta alias Johnstone Muigai Kamau. Not realising you decided to hand over power peacefully! Ungrateful brats!

What is done in the dark must come to light and His Excellency President Emilio Mwai Kibaki E.G.H M.P C-in-C has a chance to redeem himself. What more can a man ask for?

This time, year of the Lord, 2010 August the 27th am at peace when I reflect on events leading to this day I know it’s not about him. It just miffs me that you may not know nor care to.

This is for the people with unmarked graves missing from history books, TV documentaries and national holiday reserved VVIP seats. This is for Rev. Timothy Njoya, Jaramogi Oginga Odinga, Pio Gama Pinto, Field Marshall Dedan Kimaathi, Prof. Wangari Maathai, James Orengo, Koigi wa Wamwere’s dreadlocks, this is to all the names I might not mention. Martin shikuku and his bowtie, Wambui Otieno-Mbugua…

Ernesto Che Guevera, Robert Nesta Marley’s music, Martin Luther King jr’s– I have a dream, Malcom X’s -by any means necessary!

Unwitting contributions of WWI & WWII and my grandfather Rtd. Sgt Major Michael Amolo Ondego

In loving memory

Jesus Christ

_______________

For Raila Amolo Odinga

One thought on “Angalia saa

Leave a Reply

