The Repo Men

I want to take you some place. I want to tell you a story. My story. I hope you’ve watched the movie I have named this piece after.

*So what is it am writing… this is a cautionary tale. I hope you are going to learn from my mistakes. Because in the end a job is just not a job; it’s who you are! If you want to change who you are first, you have to change your job

A job is a job, right?

Pardon my idealistic mind and forgive my unwillingness to wake up to face reality. Do not be too choosy. Meaning a beggar has no choice. I’ve been resisting that implied notion trying to live up to “I am the captain of my soul!” – Sweet dreams my dear friend.


There is no way out of the system (Babylon is a vampire!). If you can’t beat them join them? One thing I can take from the 8-4-4 system is… nothing! I am all the same proud of myself looking back. I’ve been in the system but the system hasn’t grown in me. It sounds like so in Swahili: nimekua kwa system system haijakua kwangu. Prior to my graduation day I had engaged my father in a battle of wills to wear suit versus not to wear a suit to my graduation. Of course he won. I thought I would ‘do it my way’ but we know ‘man is born free but chains all around’! Lessons I had hoped to teach were lost in translation. You are not allowed to be different! Take note of the word ‘allowed’.

A-list

My Uncle Babi once tried to get me into the mould by telling me that I had to up my acting skills “the world is a stage and everybody’s an actor! Sadly for me; I am not one to compromise and it costs me my peace and energy trying to explain myself.

I am in the process of fashioning my Curriculum Vitae and ‘upgrade’ my image in anticipation of a corporate world call up. Problem with me acting is it actually gets me sick and tired and I mean the real sick and tired! My cousin Mato ‘druid the XLR’ (I don’t know what name he uses now a days) says am a free spirit, I guess it’s true. As I line up to be sucked into the machinery of the system and start hollering ‘ we are a part of the ship’ like its Pirates of the Caribbean and advising ‘young turks’ not to rock the boat, I get a brief reprieve.

Trent Humm

I’ve got to thank Trent Humm for ‘the Simple Dollar’ where he sought to differentiate a job, a vocation, and a career. It gave me a life line and the future isn’t as grim as it made itself out to be. What do I value most? What are my career mission statements and visions? Just (inner) peace and quiet! And I don’t think I’ve ever taken time to evaluate myself along those lines.

He says a job is a situation you find yourself in that you are paid in exchange for your labour. A career is a sequence of jobs in a particular field with an opportunity for promotions within that field. A vocation is what one was born to do; where you are most able to change the world around you. It is the point where your skills, talents, and interests intersect. Wrap your head around it.

Do I have dreams, ambitions, passion… what about; “he who does not work does not deserve to eat”?

As Bob Marley asked, “will you let the system make you kill your brother man?”

A job is a job right? There is no way out of the system…

_____________________

For Luke ‘Lux’ Omondi

Called me as I put down this piece

*taken from The Repo Men movie

Leave a Reply

