missing persons

We were parted at birth

Apart by a year

That grew

 

I don’t know my sister

But I’ve met her friends

Hugged even

They sound like her

and she’s their composite

like a compost pit

 

she thrives

in a confidence nurtured

in an environment

of pretense

and careless

intense

opinions

 

I was a bad influence

To my brother

I kept away

For my fathers son sake

 

There is comfort

In the loss of nagging

Critique or conscience

They will say

 

I disguise myself

mute my voice

to be in their presence

 

when we get together

I get a way

A sad clown

Heavy head

 

She changed

we grew up

 

she burns her hair

weaves and stitches

plastics instead

 

if ever a daughter/ niece should doubt her beauty

I will tell her to wash her face and ask again…

If that face is pale

That mask is pain

 

If she walks naked

And shows no respect

Dragging

Swinging

Bouncing

Rocking

Rolling

tongue

eyes

behind

She’s an imposter

 

Answering

my missing persons poster

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

