dawn

Don’t jump the gun or be sure it harbours no bullets. Mornings when I set out of my room and open the gate into the world, it happens to me. A flash of the image of a gunman in wait as a shot greets my face propelling me through the air. In that instance I can see myself like in outer body experience of a three dimensional view frame frozen in the air. Caught in the chest by a force pushing me away from the gate my arms and legs follow torso. I don’t know if am still holding the keys or they remain dangling from the key hole. It matters little. The reel ends here.

That’s what too many movies do to you especially if you are empathetic of the ‘bad guy’. It’s the game; it speaks to me, “get out while you are still ahead!” It’s that you want your name; you want it to mean something to people but mostly to yourself. Actually, it’s your ego nudging you whispering in your ear and it sounds like roaring applause. It does things to people

Yeah, it’s too many movies with too many gangsters at that. Gangsters calling themselves business men; Businessmen cavorting with politicians; Politicians… the lines get blurry as to who is who. Who is who and most important; who gets what. That great teacher’s words sift through the sound proof walls and doors of the board rooms at the end of the thickly carpeted wall to wall corridors of power. ‘What does it gain a man to win the world but lose his soul?’

There is something saintly in wanting too little. There is something dangerous in wanting nothing. There is something sinful in wanting everything. Wanting nothing and wanting everything are both condemnable acts and wanting too little is not living. Nobody has the right answers

Leave a Reply

